SAHM Taste and Play-Dreaming Tree

The Inaugural SAHM Taste and Play was a blast!  Five SAHMs, ten kiddos, one fabulous sister, and Dave Matthews.  Well, his wine and music.  That is as close as we will probably ever get to Mr. Fabulous.  And, as usual, he did not disappoint.

We tasted both the Dreaming Tree Crush and the Cabernet Sauvignon.  We started with the Crush and, I’ll admit, I think I have one.  A good nose, not overpowering.  Bright and juicy.  I accidentally saw the description on the bottle when I was looking for a blend.  It is hard to get their words out of your head when tasting, but I tried.  I got a really good berry flavor with a touch of smoky warmth.  Dry, but not too dry to drink alone.  Really balanced, really easy drinking.  Although not overly complex, it was a darn tasty glass of wine.  As it said on the website, it is not a bottle to be saved, but to be enjoyed with friends.  Couldn’t agree more.

The Cab was tasty, too.  Now for me, if I am drinking a Cab, I want it really big and complex to be pared with food.  This was not big and complex, but it is young, too.  I think that you are only going to get just so big at this price point (under $15) so take it for what it is.  One guest liked it better than the Crush. Try them both and see what you think.

Now, I want to know what you think about Dreaming Tree?  Don’t be afraid.  Just tell us in your own words.  You can’t be “wrong” if it is your opinion, right?  I think they would both make great Monday wines.  As Nikki commented on the last post, and Mr. Matthews sings, “What Would you Say?”

5 responses

  1. An easy, subtle red blend that does leave a smile on your face, feeling a tad nore crushed for Dave. The Crush was very smooth and fruity with well balanced acidity. One of those bottles is going to be super easy to drink, so drink responsibly and know that too much will make you “crash into me”. Oh, the puns could be endless, but the wine really was and is a treat! Great wine, even greater company made for one fine afternoon. A must for next month…going to be fun to replicate.

Leave a Reply

