Welcoming Spring without the Cha-ching-3 Monday wines

Last Thursday, my better half was hosting a networking event at his office and I was in charge of selecting wines.  We were serving sushi from “How Do You Roll” (YUM!) and we hit 90 degrees that day, so I opted for two whites and a red.

Back in November, I did a piece called Change of Seasons about the wines I choose as we transition out of the summer months and into the fall:

The change of seasons can be a hard time for fashion if you don’t want sweat in your corduroys and you’re over your sundresses.  It can also be hard on wine choices when you are really wanting to open a Zinfandel and you are done with Sauvignon Blanc.  Now, don’t get me wrong.  I love my sundresses as much as I love my Sav. Blancs, but I am ready to usher in big reds and cozy sweaters.

With the temperatures we have had lately, “Spring” seems like a bit of a misnomer.  This is like the height of summer for some of you.  Regardless, when it comes to sipping wines, I am moving away from bold reds and into lighter varietals.  Busting out the sundresses.  With that in mind, I wanted a medium bodied white, a crisp white, and a light red. They wanted to stay around ten dollars a bottle so I chose these Monday Wines:

Pine Ridge Chenin Blanc - Viognier 2011

Pine Ridge Chenin Blanc/Viognier

One of my favorite go-to whites.  Crisp and light.  The Viognier adds a little body to the Chenin Blanc and brings out the best in both. Citrus, blossoms, peach, a bit of green. Love it.  $9.99

’10 Salneval Albarino

I will be buying a lot more of this Spanish gem. Floral nose, stone and tropical fruits, bit of minerality, honey-smooth body.  Big enough to charm red wine drinkers.  A very versatile and tasty wine! $9.99

’07 Mazets de Saint Victor Cotes du Rhone

Red fruit, a bit of spice.  Not overly complex, but very nice for sipping on a warm day, or a cold one.  A Grenache/Syrah/Mourvedre blend typical of the region,  this is a very nice Spring red and a great value. $9.99

For those of you whom are primarily red drinkers, no matter the temp, Snooth did a piece on Spring Reds that is worth looking at for the photos alone. Also, check out Denise Garner’s informative piece on Light to Medium bodied reds.  Some great advice on varietals and pairings.  But if you are feeling wild and trying a white, perhaps an Albarino or Viognier might be just what you are looking for.  Happy Spring and Happy Tasting!

3 responses

  1. Very good post! Never tried this Viognier/Chenin Blanc blend, but Albarino is one of my favorite summer wines.
    How about Rose? Try something from Provence, or if you want California, try Hendry Rose – outstanding wine in my opinion.

    Cheers!

  2. Great food for thought. The wagners are in need of stocking up on a few bottles and these sound like great choices. Will certainly look for these on my next trip to the market!

  3. I’ve made Pine Ridge Chenin Blanc/Viognier one of my go to wines. Absolutely love it! I’ve never tried Albarino. The way you described it…I will be on the look out for it.

Leave a Reply

