Okay, so maybe I should call this “Summer likin,'” because you probably don’t LOVE most of these, but you like them just fine.

In an earlier post, I referenced, “Monday Wines.”  These are wines that are for when you really want a glass of wine, just a glass, after a long Monday but don’t want to open or waste anything special (read-“expensive”).  They are under $10.00, typically 7-8 dollars and palatable.  Nothing you are going to evaluate, store, talk about at bunko, but will do the job.

Depending on where you live, it is still pretty hot.  Here in Austin, we are having a record-breaking heat wave to accompany our drought-not my favorite pairing-so I am thinking something light and crisp.  Think Sauvignon Blanc, Chenin Blanc, Pinot Grigio, or my personal favorite for 105 degrees-Vinho Verde.  In the “Monday Wine” category, there are plenty of Vinho Verdes to choose from.  Prices range from $5 on sale up to $8 for most.  You aren’t going to find a huge range on this wine, but I’ll list my personal favorites below.  I am pretty sure I single-handedly forced a local retailer to up there price a few summers ago (kidding…I think).  It went up from 6 to 9 one summer.  Disappointing, so I moved on to a less popular one.  If you aren’t familiar with Vinho Verde, it is a lightly effervescent, crisp wine from Portugal.  Love it.  This is also a great wine to have with appetizers or on Saturday afternoon or…well you get the idea.  It is low in alcohol so you can have that extra glass and still feel a-ok.  Plus, it is so reasonable that you can pick up 6 bottles (10% discount) when it is on sale and spend less than you would on a pedicure.

So, let’s share…what are your favorite crisp, white “Monday Wines?”

1) Famega Vinho Verde (7-9, original favorite)

2) Gazela Vinho Verde (6-7, replacement)

3) Barefoot Pinot Grigio (5-7) surprisingly ok

4) Pine Ridge Chenin Blanc/Viognier (10-13, so it almost doesn’t meet the Monday wine reqs, but if on sale, it is so yummy I had to mention it, maybe we’ll call it a Thursday wine)

5) Columbelle (8) crisp, fruity French wine

6) McManis Viognier (8-9)

7) Kenwood Sauvignon Blanc (7-9)

Looking forward to adding to the list!