Cold Hands, Warm Heart-Texas Tuesday

The fine folks at Wine and Food Foundation of Texas (WFFT) aren’t going to let a silly thing like weather get in the way of a good time.  Despite the drizzle and cool temperatures, some of the top Texas winemakers and epicureans came out to enjoy the Inaugural Toast and Roast Event at Rancho Cuernavaca.

During the first hour, guests huddled under cover or warmed themselves by the fire while sampling Texas Monthly’s Best Texas Wines as chosen by Jessica Dupuy.   The second portion meant more wine provided by Pedernales Cellars and Fall Creek Winery, two of the winners, and a roast of goat, pork, and lamb by Chef John Bates of Noble Sandwiches.  Austin’s “Browngrass” band, Sour Bridges entertained.

A lot has happened in the Texas wine scene since my friend and former roommate moved out of state, so I was so excited to get to introduce her to these wines.  There were several favorites and several more that I had not yet had the opportunity to try.  As we weaved our way from whites to pinks, I was able to introduce her to the people and the wines that are making the Texas wine industry shine. Sample after sample, she was impressed, as I knew she would be.

As I have come to expect, but always appreciate, the WFFT were professional, organized, and friendly through out.  Having the limited time for sampling and drink coupons was wise.  The shuttle was a thoughtful touch.  The food was excellent and the music provided the perfect backdrop for conversations and was good enough to stop them.

My only regret? So enjoying the company of my friend and others that I didn’t make it around to taste some that I had been looking forward to trying. But that isn’t really a problem, is it? After every conversation, my friend commented on how friendly the people were.  It is one of the things she misses about Texas and one of the many reasons I love the Texas wine industry.  Our hands and toes may have felt the chill, but there was plenty of warmth.

Many thanks to Matt McGinnis and The Wine and Food Foundation of Texas for inviting me to the event and for making every one special.

{I received a media invitation to the event but no other compensation.  Thoughts and opinions are my own.}

Posted by

Wine lover. Oenophile. Wanna-be-sommelier. Mom. Mommy. MA-MAAAAA!!!!!! Grocery shopper, budding nutritionist, dish scrubber, meat cutter. My love of wine started in my mid-twenties. I have no formal training, just a decent palatte and a desire to learn. And I am pretty good in the kitchen. The more I learn, the greater the desire to educate myself through articles, blogs, travel, and surrounding myself with others who like to discuss wine. When things calm down (what's that?) in my life, I may choose a formal education in the arena, but for now, I will taste, share, and taste some more. My descriptors may or may not be "correct." My pairings may wow, surprise, or may not "work." But, the best learning is through trial and error, right? Especially when the "trial" means drinking more wine. So, if you are up for a little wisdom about wine, and a lot of wine-induced wisdom, come along for the ride

4 thoughts on “Cold Hands, Warm Heart-Texas Tuesday

  1. Thank you again for being my Texas wine guide! I had a lovely time catching up while navigating all the winners. I definitely walked away with some new favorites. Looking forward to my next visit!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

