Top 9 Reasons I’m Over Top 10 Lists

9) Why does it have to be 10?  Who decided that 10 is the magic number for a list? And how can I write a “Top 10” if that is what I’m ranting about? That would make me a hypocrite.

8) There was a time when I would have put Richard Marx on my Top 10.  Is this list supposed to quantify all-time or just this week? No one clarifies this very important distinction. Curious minds need to know.

7) The powers that be say to catch a reader’s attention with a Top 10 list.  If what you have to say isn’t interesting enough on its own, why would I want to read 10 things?

6) Is it ascending or descending?  Is it like a 3rd degree burn or the 1st place winner?

5) How does one decide what makes the cut?  It is torture!  I was once tagged to write my top 10 books.  How am I supposed to narrow it down to 10?

4) And on the contrary, sometimes you only have 6 all-time favorites and then you have to throw in a few consolatory choices.  They are nowhere near as good as the others and yet they made the same list.

3) Because the only people who are going to read your Top 10 list are the last 10 people who YOU read and liked and commented on.

2) Because it is the rare list that can compete with King Letterman.

And the number one reason I am over Top 10 lists…

1) Because the number 1 is never as witty as number 3 or 4.  It is always a letdown.

This list was not written in any scientific manner but in an early morning daze.  Some were pre-coffee, some post.  Thoughts and Opinions are my own.  Which means this list is, for all intents and purposes, useless.

Now, please take this with a grain of salt. I will still likely read and enjoy any lists that my fellow writers create.  But only if you read mine first. Happy Friday!

 

Lately The Drunken Cyclist has been writing a Friday rant or rave which I have enjoyed.  Although he is much better at it, I decided to follow his lead. Thanks for the inspiration, Jeff.  You have a place on my top 10.

Posted by

Wine lover. Oenophile. Wanna-be-sommelier. Mom. Mommy. MA-MAAAAA!!!!!! Grocery shopper, budding nutritionist, dish scrubber, meat cutter. My love of wine started in my mid-twenties. I have no formal training, just a decent palatte and a desire to learn. And I am pretty good in the kitchen. The more I learn, the greater the desire to educate myself through articles, blogs, travel, and surrounding myself with others who like to discuss wine. When things calm down (what's that?) in my life, I may choose a formal education in the arena, but for now, I will taste, share, and taste some more. My descriptors may or may not be "correct." My pairings may wow, surprise, or may not "work." But, the best learning is through trial and error, right? Especially when the "trial" means drinking more wine. So, if you are up for a little wisdom about wine, and a lot of wine-induced wisdom, come along for the ride

15 thoughts on “Top 9 Reasons I’m Over Top 10 Lists

  1. Nice work, Alissa – a very good rant. By the way, if you will call your list “Top 9”, it would be as perfect or may be even better that Top 10 🙂 Happy Friday!

    Like

      1. I know – this was a bad way to phrase it on my part – I meant in general, not for this specific post. I’m just saying that Top 6, Top 9 or Top 4 might attract more attention than Top 10. Top 99 would be cool too 🙂

        Like

Leave a Reply

