The Wine World’s a Buzz…

And if your tolerance is like mine these days, in more ways than one.  This is the time of year when there is one event after the other.  The calendar is getting crowded, overlapping even, and I need to pick and choose.  There are a few events coming up in the next month that are worth highlighting.  Some are local, some virtual, all sound fabulous.

Tomorrow night I will be participating in the Finger Lakes Wine Virtual Tasting.  This region is pretty hot right now.  “White hot,” you might say.   They are already getting international attention for their Riesling; we will be diving into some other whites.   I’ve participated in two other events like this.  Always fun.  Join us on twitter at 8 eastern,  #flxwinevt.  Here’s a list of what we will be tasting:

Hosmer Winery              2012 Chardonnay

Fulkerson Winery          2012 Gruner Veltliner

Lakewood Vineyards     2012 Pinot Gris

Villa Bellangelo               2012 Gewürztraminer

Knapp Winery 2012       Dry Gewürztraminer

Keuka Spring Vineyards    2012 Gewürztraminer

On Sunday the 20th at 2pm is the Gusto Blind Tasting at Barley Swine.  I haven’t been in a while but it is a great way to spend an afternoon.  Highly recommended.  Hoping I can swing it this month.

The following Sunday, October 27th from 3-6pm is the Wines Of South Africa – USA Braai Tour 2013/2014 event benefiting Amala Foundation at VUKA (411 Monroe Street West).  Tickets are $20 for unlimited Braai, South African barbeque and wine.  There is some great wine coming out of South Africa.  In fact, my first piece for Wine Savvy highlighted a South African Pinotage that I loved.  I am really trying to make this one.  Even if you don’t live in Austin, you can hit this event when it come to LA the following week.  Tickets are available now at austinbraai.eventbrite.com.

Also on the casual and fabulous list is the Austin Food and Wine Alliance’s 3rd Annual Wine and Swine Pig Roast out at Ceres Park on November 10th.  With that many amazing chefs and that much wine, you better bring your appetites and a driver.  Again, already a calendar conflict but I’m going to try to figure out a way to get out there.

Finally, I have to mention the 11th Annual Big Reds and Bubbles events.  I first found out about it two years ago.  I haven’t been able to make it yet.  I told my husband THIS year we are going.  He agreed.  I got the press release the following day and found out that it is on his birthday.  WHAT?!?  Of all days.  I still may be able to talk him into spending his big day in a suit.  I’m sure going to try.  Even if I can’t make it, you can.  I’ll sip vicariously.  Here are the details:

·        What: 11th Annual Big Reds & Bubbles

·        When: 6:30-9:30 p.m. Thursday, November 7, 2013

·        Where: The Driskill Hotel, 604 Brazos St, Austin, TX 78701

·        How: www.winefoodfoundation.org

·        Tickets: $85 Foundation Members; $100 General Admission

Posted by

Being a stay- at-home mom can leave one thirsting for a taste of the outside world, a world in which sentences are composed of more than three words. Being an educator means one is always seeking an opportunity to explore and learn. Being a woman with a need to connect can be a challenge when adult conversations are rare. In wine, I find the marriage of art and science, agriculture and storytelling provides limitless areas to explore. But it is the people that keep me engaged. The tenacity needed to keep the family dream alive, the risk to start anew, the trials and principles. I love the history of the vine, the impact of a season, the sentiment in the bottle. That is why I write. I write to tell their stories, to share a piece of mine. I write to learn as I teach others. I write to connect with new friends, to disconnect from the world. I write to celebrate what makes each of us unique, and that which ties us together.

3 thoughts on “The Wine World’s a Buzz…

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.